1

I've seen this message in bitbucket a couple times, for some feature branches that branched off from proto.

If I click Sync Now, what does it do?

screeshot

  • it means proto has more commits than your branch that likely happened after you branched – Daniel A. White Aug 13 at 14:33
  • @DanielA.White so Sync Now would merge the all the new commits in proto into my current feature branch? – Kid_Learning_C Aug 13 at 14:37
1

so Sync Now would merge the all the new commits in proto into my current feature branch?

It is the "Sync now" feature presented in this 2018 thread (initially for SVN, and for complaining that feature was not visible enough in the new BitBucket Cloud web UI).

In the case of "x commits behind" and Git, it would actually simply move the HEAD of your main branch (master) to the latest of the original repository.
Your feature branch should be unchanged (you can rebase it on top of master after sync if you want).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.